我们的历史

以下是由律所创办人李东尼律师对本公司所作的简介:

“我记得当我还在多伦多奥斯古德法学院读法律的第一年,当时我才刚满21岁。入学的第二个礼拜,教授就问我们将来想要从事法政界的哪一个领域。我当时的答案是国际商业贸易,专攻亚洲地区。同学们都一脸惊呆的样子盯着我看。我当时认为,作为加拿大的准律师,可能他们既不熟悉亚洲,将来要办理的业务也不会涉及亚洲区。不管怎样,毕业后我还是回来加拿大的卑斯省,一个我熟悉的地方。当年18岁的时候从香港飘洋过海,到UBC大学完成我的第一个本科学位。

我曾在卑斯省几个本地的律师事务所实习以及就业。后来,我决定了开创自己的事业,和几位搭档成立一个属于我们自己的律师事务所。我们的公司是在在1989年的时候建立的,正好当时很多亚洲人开始纷纷到温哥华来,并改变了很多本地事物的形态。那些来自香港,台湾,印度,菲律宾还有日本,不管是新移民还是商业投资者,都成为了本所发展过程中的首要客源。 为了服务我们不断增长的客户资源,我往外吸纳更多的人才,建立了一个更强大的团队。我们一直以来的服务范围包括了企业,商业,房地产方面的事务,和移民法,民事诉讼,刑事诉讼,家庭法,证卷,合併,还有收购(如采购项目及企业建设等)。本所的多语服务也证明了我们的优越之处。 多年来,我们的团队日益强大,除了能给我们广大的客户提供全面的服务以外,我们还非常熟悉亚太区多个国家的当地文化。

随着新移民和投资者的增长,我们到中国内地,香港,台湾开设了合作协会,与来自亚太区各个地方的律师合作。1998年,中国司法部长诚邀本所到访北京,并成立一个代表处。当时本所是到北京大会堂被授予该律师代表处的营业执照。自此,本所的律师开始到亚洲多个国家出差,特别是中国,日本,韩国,还有台湾。随着中国经济急速的发展,无论是境内还是境外,本所的客源也同时大量增长。那时候,我们的主要服务对象是来自中国大型国际公司或者小型商业机构。如今,我们还在列治文市和素里市增设联络处,并与BC省其他多个地区的律师建立合作关系,务求协助更多的客户,尤其是投资和投资方面的需求。

我们和亚洲一些著名的律师或者律师事务所也建立了合作关系。例如,我们和北京一个专门协助海外公司进行投资项目,融资,寻找国内的商业机会等的律师事务所有着紧密的合作关系。我们代表的客户有跨国公司,中国的银行,矿业公司,太阳能公司,制药公司,金融公司,还有来自亚洲的私人投资者,房地产开发商, 本地的小型企业,慈善机构等。

李东尼律师事务所坚持发展与奉献并重的公益理念,我们律师经常参与各种慈善活动来回馈社会。 我想说,我们真的很荣幸能为新移民建立通往加拿大及本地社会的桥梁。我们会继续承诺带给广大客户最合理的收费标准和更优越的工作效率。在我的律师生涯中,我实现了成为亚太区国际商业交易的一份子,还成立了一所超过四分之一个世纪的律师事务所,为本地和亚太区多个国家的客户提供优秀敬业的法律服务。

我的确很幸运!在此我要感谢我美丽的妻子,儿女,特别是我们事务所的优秀律师团队及所有从1989年开始,为公司共同奋斗和贡献过的员工!”

Remedios

Anthony Remedios

Our History

Welcome to our firm, Mabuhay, Gee Ayan Nu, 欢迎光临,Bienvenue

Introduction to our firm by Anthony Remedios, principal of Remedios and Company

“I remember when I was in my first year at Toronto’s Osgoode Hall Law School at the ripe old age of 21. We were asked in our second week by one of the professors what each of us would like to do in the future. My answer was to practise international business transactions in Asia. The class looked at me with blank looks. I guess Asia was neither on their radar nor relevant to their concept of lawyering in Canada. Nonetheless, I ventured on and returned to British Columbia where I had originally completed my undergraduate studies at UBC after coming to Canada at the age of 18.

After articling and working at several established B.C. firms, I decided to set up my own firm with a couple of buddies from other firms. We set up our firm in 1989 and by good chance Asia came to Vancouver and changed the shape of things to come for us. Newcomers from Hong Kong, Taiwan, India, the Philippines, and Japan, both personal and business related, became the primary source of the firm’s growth. To service our growing clientele, I built up the firm’s talent and a team of legal talent from other firms as well as outside advisers and counsel. We went from corporate, commercial, real estate to include immigration, civil litigation, criminal, family, securities, and mergers and acquisitions including project sourcing and synergy building for businesses. Our language skills have proven invaluable. Over the years, we have amassed excellent talent, developed a team approach to service clients and developed a deep understanding of the business and cultural norms of the different regions in the Asia-Pacific.

As a result of the growing network of newcomers, we developed associations in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and worked with lawyers from all over Asia. In 1998, we were invited by the Chinese Minister of Justice to travel to Beijing to set up a representative law office. We attended at the Great Hall in Beijing and were given the licence to open a representative law office to service our clients from around Asia. Since then, our lawyers have travelled extensively throughout China, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan. In addition, the rise of the Chinese economy has resulted in a massive increase in work inbound and outbound. As a result, we have had to service both multinational corporations and small business executives from China. The spread of activity in B.C. from Asia, particularly China, the Philippine, and India, has resulted in our setting up liaison offices in Richmond Brunch and Surrey and engaging lawyers in other parts of B.C. to assist us in increases in investment and immigration cases.

We have also developed our association with lawyers and firms in Asia. In particular, we are closely associated with a firm in Beijing assisting foreign (U.S. and Canadian) companies seeking investment, financing, and business opportunities in China. We act for multinationals, Chinese banks, mining companies, solar companies, pharmaceutical companies, financial firms, private investors from Asia, real estate developers, etc. We also act for many local small businesses and charities in the lower mainland.

As a result of our growth, our lawyers have given back to the communities in participating in various charities and community organizations.

All I can say is that we have been fortunate to be able to bridge the gap between newcomers to Canada and the locals in B.C. We intend to continue to devote our firm to serve our clients more effectively at reasonable costs to them.

I achieved my goal of becoming involved in international business transactions in Asia and in addition, setting up a law firm that for over a quarter of a century better serves the various communities here in B.C. and in the Asia-Pacific and South Asian countries.

I have been indeed fortunate and thank my beautiful wife, children, and in particular, the excellent lawyers and non-lawyers who have fought for and supported our firm since 1989."

Remedios

Anthony Remedios